Washington State Enacts New Gift Certificate Law
On March 26, Washington state Governor Gary Locke signed into law H.B. 3036 which bans expiration dates and service or dormancy fees on gift certificates and gift cards, with limited exceptions, and makes the gift certificates and cards that are subject to these new prohibitions exempt from the unclaimed property statute. Specifically, expiration dates are prohibited except when a gift certificate or gift card is donated to a charitable organization for use in the charity's fundraising purposes; is redeemable for goods or services provided in the state by artistic or cultural organizations; or is issued without consideration as part of a loyalty or awards program. It is important to note, however, that if the certificate "is issued with the sale of tangible personal property or services," it is subject to the prohibition on expiration dates and services and dormancy fees. Where permitted, the expiration date must be disclosed clearly and legibly.
Service and dormancy fees are not allowed unless all of the following are true:
- the amount remaining is $5 or less;
- there is a disclosure explaining the amount of the charge, how often it is applied, and that it is triggered by inactivity;
- the charge does not exceed $1 per month;
- the charge is assessed only after 24 consecutive months of inactivity;
- the bearer can add value to the gift certificate or card; and
- if a fee is assessed, the remaining value can be redeemed in cash on demand.
The new law does not apply to gift certificates or gift cards issued by financial institutions or their subsidiaries that are usable with multiple unaffiliated sellers. The law takes effect June 10, 2004, for gift certificates or gift cards issued on or after July 1, 2004.
Telemarketers Must “Scrub” Their Lists Against National Do Not Call List Every 31 Days
The Federal Trade Commission announced that it has modified the rules implementing the Telemarketing Sale Rules to require telemarketers and sellers that are subject to the national Do Not Call registry to scrub their lists against the registry every 31 days, instead of quarterly.This change will take effect January 1, 2005.
Companies May Need to Revise Privacy Policies to Comply with New California Law
- Identify the categories of personally identifiable information that the operator collects through the web site or online service and the categories of third-party persons or entities with whom the operator may share personally identifiable information.
- Describe how a consumer can review and make changes to his or her personal information, if the operator allows such review and changes.
The California Attorney General, local district attorneys, and private individuals can bring suit under California’s Unfair Competition Act to enforce the provisions of this new law.The Act provides for penalties of $2,500 per violation.
Entities that operate web sites or online services should review their offline and online privacy policies to ensure compliance with the California law.
This client alert is a publication of Loeb & Loeb and is intended to provide information on recent legal developments. This client alert does not create or continue an attorney client relationship nor should it be construed as legal advice or an opinion on specific situations.
Circular 230 Disclosure: To assure compliance with Treasury Department rules governing tax practice, we inform you that any advice (including in any attachment) (1) was not written and is not intended to be used, and cannot be used, for the purpose of avoiding any federal tax penalty that may be imposed on the taxpayer, and (2) may not be used in connection with promoting, marketing or recommending to another person any transaction or matter addressed herein.