PDF Binder

The PDF Binder tool allows users to download select information about our firm, professionals and capabilities. The information may be exported to a PDF, which can be printed, or sent via an email that includes a set of links.

To add a page to your customized binder, select "Add to Binder" at the top of any page. You may select as many pages as you would like to export or email. Once you have compiled your binder, please click on the binder icon, which will show you how many items you have selected. You may then choose to export the information or email the set of links.

Search entire site for:
Publications and News

Loeb & Loeb Secures Antitrust Victory for South Carolina Power Producer Santee Cooper

September 5, 2017
Announcements/Press Releases

In a hearing on Friday, September 1, in the matter of Century Aluminum of South Carolina Inc. v. South Carolina Public Service Authority (Santee Cooper), the Honorable Richard Gergel of the United States District Court for the District of South Carolina indicated that he would dismiss the antitrust lawsuit brought by Century Aluminum against South Carolina’s leading power company.

The decision concludes a long-running fight over the power supply to Century Aluminum’s Mt. Holly smelter. In the suit, which was filed in January 2017, Century claimed it was forced to pay higher electricity rates because Santee Cooper “used its monopoly power over transmission of electric power in its service area” in violation of state and federal antitrust laws and unfair trade practices. 

Agreeing with Santee Cooper’s Motion to Dismiss, Judge Gergel invoked the state action immunity doctrine and said during Friday’s hearing that Santee Cooper is a sub-state agency that has been granted a legal monopoly by the state legislature and is, therefore, immune from suit under antitrust laws. 
Loeb & Loeb LLP, together with South Carolina-based Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP, is representing Santee Cooper in the matter. The Loeb & Loeb team was led by Richard Lorenzo, Theodore Duver and Nichole Travers.